Five PDP lawmakers defect to APC (Read full details)

The ranks of opposition in the Lagos State House of Assembly Thursday was highly depleted following the defection of five members of the Peoples Democratic Party, (PDP) in the House to the All Progressive Party (APC).

The defection came after weeks of rumours of their defection. The rumour, however, became a reality when they formally announced their defection on the floor of the House during yesterday’s sitting.

After the letter stating their defection was read by the acting Clerk of the House, Azeez Sanni, each of the lawmakers – Mosunmola Sangodara, Surulere 2; Fatai Oluwa, Ajeromi Ifelodun 2; Dayo Famakinwa, Ajeromi Ifelodun 1; Hakeem Sokunle, Oshodi-Isolo2; Jude Idimogwu, Oshodi-Isolo 1; took time to give reasons they left PDP.

The defectors cited the leadership crises rocking the PDP and the outstanding performance of Lagos State governor Akinwunmi Ambode as the reasons for their defection.

APC lawamkers in the house took turn to commend the defecting colleagues for their actions. They also praised the Speaker for his leadership style, which they said helped in making the defecting members to cross over.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s